Devoted to the one who changed my life

Greeks

ImageGreeks are funny people. They have this pride that totally drives them. They call it filotimo, or “love of honor”. It causes them to act in ways that are deemed socially cooth even if they don’t feel like it. So, for example, as a demonstration of hospitality, a must in Greece, a Greek will welcome a stranger in his home and feed him and be incredibly polite to him when, if he encountered the same stranger in the street he would heap abuse on him for driving too slowly or in any way delaying him or on the smallest of pretexts. Anyone who has been in Greece knows how friendly and gracious Greeks are in their homes and how rude on the street, at the bank, on the bus, everywhere else.

Another thing this filotimo does is to keep an accounting of gifts and favors. The balance always has to be in my favor. So I am always ready to give gifts and favors but will resolutely always refuse what others give to me. I simply cannot be “indebted”. That is another big Greek word – ipohreosi, indebtedness/obligation.

This is a human trait, particularly well developed among Greeks. But everybody has it more or less. Always give. Never receive. It hurts our pride to be indebted to others.

So imagine the aggravation of somebody who has everything and wants to give his beloved ones everything but they keep refusing it. “You can have this gift.” “Thank you, really, but I could not possibly accept it.” “But I want you to have it.” “No, no. I appreciate it and it’s the thought that counts but it’s way too much. I could never accept it.” “But I have lots of it. I would not even miss it. I want you to have it. You need it.” “No, really, I’m doing just fine. But thank you anyway.” “I insist. It’s a life and death thing. You have to take it or you will die. You have no choice. Plus, I’m your dad.” “Thanks dad, very generous, but no. Some other time.”

Ridiculous? No. Conversations like this happen in Greece thousands of times a day. And this exact conversation is repeated millions of times daily worldwide. Why? Why is it so hard for us to accept gifts, particularly big ones? Is anyone here going to dispute that salvation is a gift gladly given but accepted rarely and with great difficulty?

Salvation from what? From us being sinners to being declared saints, holy, perfect, blameless, His residence on earth. Salvation from our hurt and brokenness that makes us do bad things in the first place. Salvation from having to do things to stay saved when we know full well we can’t do a thing. If it was up to us to stay saved, we would have no hope whatsoever.

I always felt that one day when I would actually succeed in being good when I got older and my youthful indiscretions and hot-headedness gave way to pious calm of spirit. Ha. With all due respect, as I got to know older people I realized many were among the unhappiest people I knew. That is before I became old for myself and knew for sure it would never work. Sanctification through senility?

And yet we try. We know it is futile and yet we persist. Was the gift too big to accept? Trying is doom in every way. Every failure piles up. The guilt breaks us and makes us worse people and less eager to ever encounter God. And God is not impressed. This big gift cost him plenty. Who are we not to accept it?

So, the man at the party who insists on wearing his own clothes gets thrown out. Those who try to be good, follow God’s rules, have fallen from grace. For them, Christ died for nothing. They are lost. Shocking words. Not mine. Gal 2:21, Gal 5:4. And those who recount their good works are left out because they don’t know Jesus. (Ten virgins, sheep and goats) So what, those things count for nothing? Just about.

If they were honest with themselves they would know they were lost. Proof is in the pudding. All that down. Surely slain does not feel that bad, does it? If it looks like a dog, smells like a dog, barks like a dog, it’s a dog. If it feels and acts unsaved, it is. So, how is it working for you? I’m not he too say who will and will not go to heaven. Whoever calls on the name of the Lord will be saved. Just that, it’s not enough when do much more is available. Who wants pie in the sky when I die? I want steak on the plate while I wait.

He does not call us to obey. He calls us to die. Give up, completely. Then he comes in and dines with us (Rev 3:20). We sit at his feet and listen. And we rest, rest, rest (Heb 4), not for a day, but for a lifetime. Imagine that. Sabbath forever in this life. And not a Sabbath that is a chore but one that is luxurious. Anything goes. No need to do anything, just receive and take and take without shame. No pressure, no let downs, just restful bliss.

No shame in the taking because he is our daddy. What do I have that I did not receive? And if I receive, why brag as though it’s mine? It was all a gift all along. So rest, my soul, rest, because all is well. Thank you Jesus.

Leave a comment