Devoted to the one who changed my life

Justice? What Justice?

scary-copWe have some quaint views on justice. Like, that it is possible. Or, that it exists anywhere. Or, that we actually want it. Of course the answer to these questions is a resounding “No.”

I remember growing up. My poor mother was always trying to administer justice in the home. I remember as a kid my three-years-my-junior second brother, Glen, running to Mom with a bloody nose.

Mom “What happened?”

Glen “Craig hit me?”

Mom “Why did you hit him?”

Craig “He called me a name.”

So we both get punished.

But in time he got more clever. He would think of the same name to call (I knew he would), look at me and smile ever so wickedly.

Mom “Why did you hit him Craig?”

Craig “He smiled at me.”

Now only I got punished. “You don’t understand. It was not just a smile…”

Eventually he could just look at me sideways and wickedly smile with his eyes only. Of course I had no choice but to hit him.

Mom “Why did you hit him?”

Craig “He looked at me.”

Let’s be clear. What was left unsaid was that Glen had committed the ultimate crime. He had been born. And he deprived me of my rightful position of being an only child. That was not a crime that was easily cured, though I had some ideas. Why was I not justified in hitting him at will? I was the one wronged. Not him. So much for justice in the home. How can anyone disentangle anything? How do you ever get to the real bottom of anything? Everything is interconnected.

We all know that is little justice in most countries. But not in the US of A. No sir. Here we have a justice system that works exceptionally well. Well, most of the time. Unless you are a minority. Or unless you are the one prosecuted. Let me tell you, you quickly find out that the jury pretty much thinks you are guilty the moment they walk in regardless of whether you did anything bad. Then the prosecutor starts with a statement full of every pejorative adjective you have ever heard. And there are always people who will lie willingly or under a little pressure of the government who will remember clearly a conversation where you admitted intending to do just what you are being accused of. Good luck with that. Your chances of not going to prison are minuscule  regardless of whether you actually did anything wrong. Some liar saying you intended to do something is enough.  As for prosecutors, the more people they put in jail, the better for their career. Losing a case is pretty much career suicide. Strong motivation, that. I am sure there are some prosecutors who really care, just not that many. Not all criminals who deny their crimes are guilty. Quite a few are actually innocent, victims of a system which at its best is highly biased against the defendant. After my experience, I wonder if justice is ever delivered.

But what about God? He is definitely “just”. Right? Poppycock. Really, poppycock. He is the least just of anyone. The most biased of them all. He plainly admits it. You want to look at the Old Testament? Just read the second commandment Exo 20:5  “…For I Jehovah your God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the sons to the third and fourth generation of those that hate me”. So, wait. He punishes innocent descendants of sinners? And he lets off Scot-free great great great grandchildren of those who love him? Absolutely. Is that justice? Should King David not have been executed for his crimes? Of course. Saved? Never. Since when saying sorry count for anything? He did it, he should pay. That is justice. So scratch the Old Testament.

What about the New Testament? Even worse. All sins of those who love him are forgiven, forgotten, wiped out, never to come to memory, bottom of the Marianas Trench where nobody will ever find them again. Nice. I could get used to that one. Yeah, Jesus! Plus, the New Testament says I will never be put to shame. It says so 6 times. What makes me ashamed, if not being confronted with my faults and bad actions? That will never ever happen.

There is a game of make believe going on. Once I am born again, God looks at me and I look perfect to him. Even though my family will vehemently swear I am not. But I am perfect where it counts, the only place it counts.

So, I stand here, blessed, very highly (undeservedly) favored (and flavored), just for being his kid. Talk about favoritism. The biggest power in the universe lives in me, making my Spirit alive, and standing by my side. The same Spirit that was in Christ Jesus is also in me. The fullness of the Godhead dwelt in him, and I am complete in him. And anyone who messes with me, is poking his finger in God’s eye? He is not amused. So who will come say a bad thing about me? Who dares? I dare you. Daddy will not like it at all!

I don’t want justice. Forget justice. I would much rather receive his favoritism. I just want to be God-Teflon coated. Done.

Let me introduce you to Teflon Craig. Nothing will ever stick here. And that is the greatest ever news. So I can relax and go about my job (his job) of converting the heathens.

Leave a comment